Vulnerable

As my three week old daughter fell asleep on my shoulder this afternoon I couldn’t help but think of how vulnerable she is.

That same anxiousness I felt cradling her brother as a newborn came back to me. That slight fear that in my arms is a tiny life, vulnerable to so much and looking to her parents, of which I am one, to protect her and help her to grow.

She is my responsibility and I owe her the very best of my capacity to do what I can to ensure her survival and prosperity.

My being a reluctant dad would suggest that prospect terrifies me – and it does, enormously – but I’m also filled with excitement at the girl and woman this vulnerable baby will become and the journey we will take together to get her there.

Vulnerable

Leave a Reply

